Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

On the water...

Still windy this morning so we walked and raked all the trails on the property. Then this afternoon the wind died and it got sunny and warm! hurray. I took the camera with me in a plastic bag in our Alden rowing boat planning to check out the many seals in our bay now. Well. they must have all been out fishing, because not one was on the rocks! We had a very fine row, saw harlequin ducks, eagles and canada geese flying overhead, gulls eating starfish, but alas, no seals sunning or killer whales! So this is the best view from today on the water -- a weird flying start of this cormorant (Brandt's) a little north of our island with Saltspring Is. in the background. (What you see is the B. C. Hydro electric cables coming up from under the water...) I also think I saw a flock of snowgeese this morning but the photo wasn't good enough. Darn. We have not seen an otter or a mink this trip (raccoons, yes) or even a deer and I think there are less starfish in general. Odd, I think. Also no people at all today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.