Happy 92nd

Today would have been my mum's 92nd birthday had she lived beyond 2001. I had wanted to get to one of her childhood haunts in Edinburgh today to blip from there but it just wasn't possible - too many meetings and appointments.

Late this afternoon I had an idea. I wondered if there was an image of her on the web, or her death notice , or anything. Because thinking about her I realised that she had - almost certainly - never touched a computer.

The answer was there wasn't apart from a mention in my cv , where it appears.

That is in itself a curious reflection - how the digital world is selective in its memory. I need to post a picture of her and my father in order to place them in this electronic world.

But as I can't today as I am not at home ( where the pictures are - she was a keen snapper) here is a type of visual commentary to go with fond memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.