Caught

Finally caught up with the elusive porpoise that's been spotted swimming around the River Forth near Alloa harbour recently.

I'd just stopped off at the usual spot to scrape off the hundreds of midges I'd picked up after cycling through a few million of them (I now know what a car radiator grill feels like) and heard the porpoise blowing out through its blow hole a few yards away. I then sat for an amazing twenty minutes watching the animal swim slowly in and out of the tributary as the young salmon panicked and leapt out of the water to try and avoid becoming a fish supper.

One of the River Devon swans flew up and splashed down nearby and the porpoise headed off back into the River Forth, swimming up river towards Stirling.

Amazingly, it was on this exact same spot 4 years and 1 week ago that I spotted another porpoise doing exactly the same thing, even though at the time I was told these things never come this far up river. Well, they do.

To echo what someone else on here said earlier; I love this country.

Some more images from this evening posted elsewhere

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.