Treegonk

By treegonk

HOT

My intention when I started was not to blip anything at work. Oh well. I was really meaning people and offices and I was just visiting this place so it's not really my work, but somebody elses. I hope my rule bending doesn't come back to burn me someday.

I can't tell you where this is, or I'd have to throw you in there with those over-cooked doughnuts.

It's the inside of a furnace at around 950°C. Those doughnuts are pipe junctions that will end up at the bottom of the North Sea to pipe oil or gas back to land. They have to withstand pressures of around 6,000 psi (about 400 atmospheres).

- An interesting day seeing some amazing things, being amazed and terrified and almost burning my face off getting a blip. The bloke gave me safety goggles, but didn't tell me I had to put them on...!

My little camera doesn't know what's hit it - green margheritas the other day and flaming infernos today. Still..it's better than the abattoir...but I couldn't keep my hands steady there, for trying to hold in the puke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.