Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Guard dog

Having used the bus to go across to St Luke's for the two planning scans and the first two treatment sessions, I decided to make the journey by car yesterday (partly because I didn't want to be too late getting back home for Derek's drop-in). It all went really smoothly, taking about 35 minutes to get across. The fall-off in traffic volumes since the recession kicked in really is very noticeable - slight delays on Rathmines Road, but plain sailing apart from that. I won't drive every day, but it's good to know it's a viable option.

Another advantage of taking the car is that the camera can come along (the Lumix isn't as handy as the little Canon was for carrying in to the hospital). Okay, so I left it in the car, but it's there ready for action when I finish the treatment session. Actually, the blip was from before I went in. This chap was in the car beside mine when I parked in the patient car park (free of charge, not like Beaumont and their multi-storey ripoff), and I couldn't resist his cheeky little face.

No delays at all today. It felt like I'd no sooner dropped off my appointment card and sat down before I was being told to drink my three cups of water (which means treatment follows in about 35 minutes - which is why we're asked to turn up 45 minutes before scheduled treatment time). Another glorious summery day. Feeling hungry, I walked up to Rathgar and had a bite in Coman's, picking up some groceries in the impressive Superquinn outlet on the way back to the hospital.

I'd felt tired over the weekend, though 'the girls' told me it was far too early for this to be a side-effect of the treatment (tiredness is the most common side-effect, but kicks in at different stages for different people). I guess it's the combination of the trips to St Luke's, the change in routine, and the work on the current job which had me feeling tired again when I got home. So I went for a nap and woke later on nicely refreshed.

Work again, but only until a reasonable hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.