0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Mind, Body and Soul

So I looked through our medicine cupboard last night and found this, a cold/flu herbal remedy which we picked up in Sri Lanka a few years back - Link Samahan.

It's a powder which you dissolve into hot water and drink. There are no less than fourteen ingredients in this remedy, all natural extracts of herbs and all with well-known, documented healing properties. I thought this was interesting in itself so thought I'd share it. See if you can work out what the fourteen ingredients are from the (top-left) picture, I'll post them up in the comments later today.

There is a big debate among the science community around both the classification of 'Alternate Medicine' and the ability to test and prove it's safe use. Alternative medicine is anything which falls outside of the world of conventional medicine and is usually based on historical or cultural traditions, rather than scientific basis. Whatever the view, I think this quote sums it up best:

"There is medicine that works and medicine that doesn't work."

As for the picture, I actually set out to produce a diptych of the Link-Samahan box. I've wanted to try a diptych for a while but when I tried this one, it didn't look right. I actually think producing a balanced diptych is one of the most difficult things to get right. Eventually, I ended up creating a quadtych as that seemed the most reasonable looking.

Top-left: Fourteen herb extracts.

Top-right: Top down view of the herbal power mixture.

Bottom-left: Angular close-up of the powder, almost resembles sand in this picture.

Bottom-right: Another shot of the Link-Samahan Box

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): IN YOUR MEDICINE CUPBOARD

112 Pictures in 2012: #50 Yellow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.