0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Oology

Oval, derived from the Latin ovum, "egg". So there was really no contest in what to photograph for this topic.

As it's close to Easter, there are chocolate eggs galore in the supermarkets. I originally had an idea to photograph Cadbury's Cream Eggs and play on the infamous tagline "How do you eat yours?" but I much prefer these - Mini Eggs.

I'm not sure if they exist everywhere but these are basically solid milk chocolate eggs covered in a thin coating of hard candy shell. Not sure why they have freckles on them, probably aesthetic, they seem to provide no difference in taste. They are hugely hugely addictive, mainly due to the contract in smooth, soft chocolate and hard, crisp exterior. As I write this, I am finishing off a 200g bag which I bought only this afternoon :)

A touch of post-processing in this picture - conversion to greyscale and a very soft vignette. I tried both colour and B&W, and for some reason I preferred the latter. The eggs are not particularly bright, pale pastel in fact, so the colour almost seemed redundant to me.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone, and thanks for looking/comments!

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): OVAL

112 Pictures in 2012: #06 Candy or Sweets

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.