Journey Through Time

By Sue

Can you see her?

A Great Horned Owl is snuggled into her nest in this tree, keeping her eggs safe and warm. A lovely day and I went to the Refuge. Several cars were stopped with their Big Bertha Lenses focused on something, so I was able to pull up along side and they pointed out the owl in the tree. I twisted and turned, got on my knees and was able to use my sun roof to good advantage. The rest of them do that too, so that's a good use for a hole in the roof of your car when the rules clearly state, Stay In Your Car! Doesn't say we can't climb up through the top! ho ho

The refuge does have a white board at the main entrance where people can write on it what they have seen and where it is. I have to remember to pay more attention to that, as I might have been able to see this owl on an earlier trip, but I blew right by her not seeing what is hard to see.

I also saw a hawk who clearly looks quite annoyed at me.
Me: Excuse me, Hawk, could you move over a bit so that branch doesn't get in the way?
Hawk: Leave me the %&*@$/ alone!!
Me: Whatever you say, Hawk, please don't claw my eyes out.

I saw this little marsh bird and I mean little slowly creeping along in the grasses. Looked him up when I got home and this might be my first ever snipe!

And this is a Black-Throated Gray Warbler and I have never seen one of these before either. He was deep in the bushes and I was lucky to get this shot, even though it's not very good.

And this blurry photo is the back of a female Yellow-Rumped Warbler which is another first for me.

I'm saving my pennies for a better 300mm lens...maybe I will get better images. I hope.

Went to store for more supplies and had a bit of lunch. I was going to go to the local fitness place to sign up for my "Silver Sneakers" program. It's FREE!! Because I'm OLD! But now it's after 4 and the traffic gets so bad in the afternoons no matter where you go. Tomorrow is day with auntie, so maybe Wednesday will be sign up day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.