A time for everything

By turnx3

Football game

Saturday
Up to Miami University this afternoon to see the game, and Laura playing in the marching band. The day turned out better weather than forecasted - the afternoon was almost too hot - certainly too hot for the marching band in their uniforms! When we saw Laura afterwards, her face was almost as red as her uniform! They had been out in the sun almost all day, and unfortunately she had forgotten to put sunscreen on. I took this shot to show that Miami was actually winning at that point. In fact they went on to win 38-27. It was Band Day today, which meant that the University Marching Band was joined at the half-time show by marching bands from nearby high schools. After the game, we met up with Laura at her dorm, and then took her out for dinner at an Indian restaurant.

Yesterday I worked in the Trinkets and Treasures tent at Lawn Fete again in the morning, but I was miserable - it was oppressively muggy, and the sweat was dripping off me, and the dust and dirt on things was setting off my allergies, so my nose was streaming! In the afternoon I was baking things to take to Lawn Fete this morning. In the evening we went to the opening concert of the Cincinnati Symphony season - a great concert featuring a Tchaikovsky overture, Andre Watts playing Rachmaninov's 2nd piano concerto and symphonic Dances by Rachmaninov. The piano concerto has long been one of my favorites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.