Mr John

By MrJohn

Yo! ......

.....Reasonably priced chinese buffet.

Today I had a shopping trip to Leeds with my friend Mae. My job today was to be Mae's substitute shopping husband ( SSH ) ( her real one was fitting a shower screen for a friend ).

The main responsibilities of an SSH are :

1 : carry heavier bags.
2 : Say that the clothes being tried on look lovely .
3 : randomly hold up items of clothing for Mae to shake her head, or scrunch up her face at ( depending on the degree of disaproval ).

After an hour or two of wondering around shops without buying a thing shopping, we decided to stop for lunch. Our usual lunch stop when I'm on SSH duties is Yo! Sushi in Harvey Nick's, but the queue to get in there today was longer and more winding than the conveyor belts that deliver the expensive raw fish and rice wraps.

Plan B. We had a wonder up to the Crown Chinese Buffet at the dodgy top end of town and I treated Mae to lunch, £5.95 each, Bargain !
5 piled high plates of food and a few belt notches later we continued shopping.

I took Mae in to Maplins electronics ( a sort of Monsoon for men ) and looked at tools and gadgets.

We then had a wonder around the Chinese supermarket where I purchased a Darlie toothpaste gift set as a present for a dentist friend and bought myself some Dee frozen young coconut ( which is a cup of frozen fluid that looks a bit like it belongs in an elephant sperm bank ).

Other items brought by me today were :

1 : Two ( matching ) pairs of trousers for work ( thats my clothes shopping done for the next 2 years )

2 : Two packs of Wilkinsons value kitchen towel at 97p each

3 : A Peperomia lilian plant from Leeds market for £1.99

I also had a look in Jessops and drooled over all the lovely cameras that I'm considering buying, when I can afford one.

After a wonder around the few remaining ladies clothes shop we hadn't already looked in before lunch, Mae eventualy found a top she liked and bought it. Mission accomplished !

But todays blip is of the 'Beef and green pepper in black bean sauce', that was part of todays....

... Yo! been under those lamps for a week, full of MSG, I'm going to regret eating all that tomorrow, should have been sushi ....Reasonably priced Chinese buffet


Post script...

In the interest of balance and fairness, I should also point out that Mae was dragged in to lots of shops selling ' boy's toys ' and did a wonderful job of going straight to the perfect pair of work trousers for me.
I'm no good at clothes shopping and rarely do it. Mae's husband ( Leigh ), once acted as my SSH ( or should that be SSW ? ) when I had to buy a winter coat. I think he's still traumatised from the whole experience.
( I think that's gotten me out of trouble :-) )



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.