Mr John

By MrJohn

Wood sorrel ....

.... at Hebers Ghyll, in Ilkley

I usually work on Sundays, so its been a nice treat to have this one off. and thats not the only treat today....

The day started with a nice lie in, then I wonderd downstairs to make breakfast. whilst getting the cereal and bowl out of the cupboard I had a call from my neighbour and friend David, asking if he could treat me to a Fry up.... ( the bran flakes were back in the cupboard before he finished the sentence ).... breakfast at the pub.

David and I were joined by mutual friends, Leigh and Mae, with all of us having fry ups of various sizes and deviations from the set menu ( ... Jumbo with mushroom instead of black pudding, in case you were wondering ). David was on top form with his surreal conversations today and had me laughing out loud more than once :-) . After we had wiped our plates clean it was back to mine for hot cross buns and Hazlenut coffees.

This afternoon I decided I needed to walk off the fry up, so had a stroll up to Hebers Ghyll. It's been ages since I've been up there and despite the grey skys today it was lovely, with all the wood sorrel in flower.

I continued my walk past the panorama resovoir and up to White Wells. Mark who runs the tea room gave me my second treat, free whipped cream on my hot chocolate ( thanks again Mark ). I was the last customer of the day and had a chat with Mark about the flags he had flying and tomorrow's impending marathon of pie and peas cooking ( highly reccomended, if you've not tried them before ). Hot chocolate finished I had a stroll around the tarn, then wandered home.

My third treat today is that I have been invited by Leigh and Mae for sushi and a roast dinner at theirs this evening. Mae is a wonderful cook and I think I'm going to have to go out for an extra long run tomorrow to burn it all off. :-)

I had considered a photo of the fry up or the view from White Wells, but todays blip is :

Wood Sorrel.......

.......at Hebers Ghyll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.