It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Feeling like a Tree

A day of ups n downs. With a relatively early start, we headed off to the Pentlands as Rosemary is planning a race later on in the year and a walking recce was required. Initially I was in the mood, but after the first hill I started to feel really sleepy and lacking energy. I wanted to go home rather than do a 15-20km walk. Reading The Observer was very tempting.

After a slight strop by me, we negotiated that I would stay put for 45mins(ish) near this tree and R would head off to do a loop near Hillend. It was just what I needed, and I enjoyed watching a couple of crows flying above, what looked like a torrential shower over Edinburgh and watching some beasties in the grass.

I had lost track of time when R came back and I hadn't even had the chance to wonder if she was gonna be longer than expected or not. I still felt pants when we headed off but a bit better than before. I was a bit upset that my energy and mood levels had been so variable over the last few weeks....and that I was behaving like a petulant kid. After a wee bit I started to feel happier again though.

When we got off the hills, it was off to Artisan Roast in Bruntsfield for a coffee. I had a rather lovely Peruvian pour-over.....lemon acidity but with a rich sweetness. Perfectly balanced. I'll be buying a bag of that towards the end of the week when my current supply of the Ethiopian single estate is nearer the bottom of the bag.

We then headed off to friends for dinner. Just a quiet day as always!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.