What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Below Ashness bridge

Can I start by thanking everyone for their good wishes and congratulations yesterday. It is a great community to belong to and I thank you all for welcoming me into it.

Onto today, and I struggled to choose today, as I visited the Solway coast this morning, and was really pleased with the results, but after lunch, we relocated to Ashness bridge - on the day after Easter Monday! - and actually managed to get some shots without people.

The reason I blipped this is that I rarely photograph round the bridge, as it gets so busy, but after the last couple of days of rain, the river under the bridge is pretty swollen. Fortunately, as I had visited the coast, I was wearing wellies, so could approach the river closer than I normally do (actually standing in it). Technically pretty simple, I used a wide angle, with a long shutter speed and added a polarising filter to take some of the reflection off the rocks and the smoother parts of the water, to allow the turbulent water to dominate. I did use a light ND grad filter over the top left, to control the brightness of the waterfall and save the highlights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.