Come Rain or Shine

By Ceb1977

The Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield

Every now and again, I try to tap into my cultural leanings and explore forms of art other than photography and given that it's yet another rainy day, I decided to pay a visit to the new Hepworth Gallery in Wakefield.

Claimed to be one of the finest contemporary art and sculpture museums in Europe, The Hepworth Wakefield celebrates the area's unique artistic legacy and explores the work of major contemporary artists including rarely seen works by Barbara Hepworth, after whom the gallery is named.

However ...... despite my best efforts, I just don't get it - this modern art malarkey. Wandering into a room of random objects - bits of wood with holes in, pieces of rock carved into different shapes and presented in glass cabinets, stools with balloons tied to them, pictures of people with hessian bags over their heads - what does it all mean?

Give me a room full of people's photographs, whether it be landscapes, macro work, portraiture or architectural and you can bet your bottom dollar I can feel the personality in the images, gain a sense of the person who took the shot and a feel for the subject in them. Unfortunately, the 'stuff' on display at the Hepworth bore absolutely no emotional connection for me and alas, I must label myself as a cultural heathen as a result! ;o)

However, all was not lost! Apart from the fabulous Yorkshire Rarebit I enjoyed in the gallery's cafe (well worth a visit in itself!), I did capture the above shot of a lone lady venturing in to the museum for her own afternoon of artistic appreciation. What I particularly like about this one is it's simplicity - both architecturally, photographically and in the colour palette with the lady's purple jacket blending in with the purple grey of the building. For that alone, I like this shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.