The Wren

By TheWren

From Torleum hill

My sister left for home by train this morning and both the dogs and I will sorely miss her company.

During a walk on Torleum Hill a couple of days ago I must have accidentally dropped my hat and so I decided to return there this morning to see if I could find it. Unfortunately it had disappeared. However as I was not so engrossed in chatting to a companion, I was able to take in just how much the scenery had changed in the last month. Not all the trees are in full leaf yet but the new growth on the larch and chestnut in particular has already made a huge difference. I especially like the bright green of the new chestnut foliage as reflected in the lochan and this might be best seen in large when you could also see the smattering of snow on the top of some of the higher hills.

I took a winter blip of this view a few months ago and if you wish to see the changes you may view it here. The last time I was here we had spotted a Red Kite circling between the water and the fields of young lambs, but he was nowhere to be seen today.

Thank you for all the thoughtful comments regarding the laser treatment on my eye yesterday. I think it went very well although the pupil is still enlarged following the drops and I will only be able to tell for sure when things have returned to normal. Thankfully the sun was out today so my sunglasses did not look out of place! It still amazes me how much advance has been made in eye surgery even in my lifetime and I am enormously grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.