ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Urqhart Castle.

M and I woke after a fitful sleep this morning and wandered down for a lovely breakfast (Scottish cold-smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, my favourite!) followed by a drive through the Great Glen out to Glencoe for a ride in the gondola to a wonderful viewpoint. Unfortunately I had managed to leave my camera at the hotel and didn't manage to take a photo - very upset and cross with myself: I'm always forgetting stuff, just so ditzy. We drove a little further out to Fort William and we both found it a bit of a depressing place; small, squat, concrete buildings crouching under skies that were then heavy with rain. Perhaps we were just in an industrial area of the town, but we decided not to stay long and drove back to Loch Ness to visit Urquhart Castle in the last of the sun.

The Castle was stunning (M was pretty much the only Scot there) and made a good Blip for today, I thought. Later, we drove back to Inverness for a pint in Johnny Fox's, and camped out in our original campsite - much, much warmer with our double sleeping bag! Definitely my new favourite toy :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.