Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Irish Coffee maker

A packed day, but a really enjoyable one.

I made my way over to Carl's and got there around 10:30 am. I'd stopped off to get an Easter egg for this evening (where Carl had gone yesterday had sold out). Rather than wander around the aisles hoping to find an Easter display I went up to the Information desk and asked where the eggs were. The girl pointed to an egg on the counter and said 'this one'. I thought she meant that was the only type they had, but it turned out it was the only one in the shop. So I took it, disappointing as it was.

We were due at Carl's mum's place for 1:30 (later changed to 1:45) and got the DART over there. Lunch was really good: traditional roast lamb with parsnip soup to start and gooseberry meringue pie for afters. After the afters, Carl's dad asked if we'd like coffee, and then amended this to ask if we'd like Irish coffee. I didn't delay my acceptance, which meant Carl had to do the work (and very nice the Irish coffee proved to be too). After our meal, there was a little chore to be performed in preparation for the arrival of a couple of house guests. Job done, Carl's mum drove us down to the DART station and we continued on our way.

Next stop was Bray, for an evening meal with our dear friends (who usually entertain us on New Year's Eve). They'd asked if we were okay with roast lamb and we said we were. Once again we had a beautiful meal, with gorgeous spicy butternut squash soup, lovely lamb, and a divine white chocolate cheesecake to finish. Really, really good. Thanks, guys. We watched a movie afterwards, after which three of us (me included) got down to some serious chat about health matters.

I crawled upstairs to bed at 2:30 am (or so I was told the next morning). A packed day indeed, but wonderfully wonderful. Happy Easter to us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.