Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Graffitier

One thing about taking the bus: you see a lot more than you do when you're driving. One of the sights is a vacant lot on Richmond Street (South) beside the Bernard Shaw pub. Every inch of the entire site is covered in the most wildly colourful graffiti. I'm no fan of graffiti, but each time I've passed on the bus I've thought in terms of its suitability as blip material. It's taken until today for me to do something about it.

I parked the car on Lennox Street and made my way over to graffitiland. As luck would have it, as I turned a corner in the laneway that skirts the site I came across a couple of young lads, one of whom was adding an extra touch to one of the walls. I asked him if he'd done everything I could see (which was obviously a silly question judging from his reaction), then I asked how come it was such a popular spot, to which he replied that 'it's legal'. Then I decided to chance my luck and asked him if I could take a shot. I told him not to worry, that his face wouldn't be seen (though why this should be a concern if it's a legal site I can't explain). Anyway, here's just one tiny part of this oh-so-heavily-covered-in-graffiti spot, complete with one of those responsible.

I was glad I'd stopped. The week of delays came to an end at St Luke's with yet another delay this afternoon, so I left feeling just a bit frustrated. The encounter with what's-his-name cheered me up no end.

========================

So once again I've allowed an unsightly gap to develop. I've plugged the gap now, and back-blips begin here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.