Monumental

It was just as well most of the day was a weather wash-out (partly wet, partly dull and grey and miserable), because I needed to get some work done on the design project that has to go to print before the trip to Vienna at the end of the month.

As the afternoon progressed, though, things improved dramatically, and by 4.30 it was too nice to ignore and I needed a break anyway. So out to Howth I went. The usual walk around the harbour and so on was surprisingly pleasant, and gave me a bit of fresh air and a bit of a walk to boot.

This is a close-up of a rather weird monument that's on the seafront near the DART station. Each time I see it (and I usually photograph it when I do) I fully intend to do some research and find out what it's all about. There are two more heads like these on other sides near the top, and four mildly sinister carvings lower down. It all has a rather masonic feel to it, even if the lower panels suggest influences from ancient celtic crosses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.