A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

They say there's a river...

I live the equivalent of maybe 2 or 3 city blocks from the St-Laurent river. At night, I sometimes can hear the boats, when it's dark or foggy. I love that sound, it's one big plus for the apartment, makes me feel like I'm not in the city, like I'm about to embark on a long adventure.

It's really close, yet you wouldn't know: the river banks "belong" to industrial companies, they make sugar, they make containers waltz from a boat to a train or a truck. There used to be a huge boat industry, around there, my grandpa worked there. Nothing left from that now. I wish we could get access to the river banks... A long park, for cycling, walking, etc. But for now, this is as close to it as you can get.

After my drive-by shooting (I just love it, you open the car window and shoot, not always sure of what the camera will get!), I had dinner with my friend C., her husband, and their third child. They have the kind of family I dream of: respect, love, patience, and very adorable children, who are curious, intelligent, open to life, etc.

I back blipped for Wednesday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.