Views of my world

By rosamund

Faeries

I'm having an early blip today after a lovely morning on the beach and in the woods at Inverkip. It has become one of my favourite local blip destinations, especially when the weather is good and the tide is out, which it was today.

I got up while most of the household was still asleep as I am determined to make the most of the last day of my holidays. I have spent far too long in front of the macbook obsessively blipping this week so I need to catch up on my creative endeavours before going back to work tomorrow.

The green summer tunic I have been knitting for over a year has reached a milestone, I had several inches of reverse stocking stitch to do after finishing the patterned panels. This seemed to go on for ever as I am knitting it in the round but last night I got to the point where I split for the front and back and cast off several stitches to shape the armholes so I feel that good progress has been made with that.

Carlos is tidying his work area as I type so that the bedroom is zen-like and calm so that I can finally warp up Bertha the big loom. I had planned on doing this sooner too but my two obsessions of blip and Mackintosh have more or less filled my holidays. If I don't do it now though it will be the summer holidays before I get round to it and I'd rather get it done as my loom has a glorious view in the evenings over the river as the sunsets so it's a beautiful place to sit for an hour after work at this time of year.

At the beach I saw oystercatchers and a selection of gulls. I carried on honing my skills and was really pleased with my best so far shot of the oystercatchers in flight. I have been trying to get one since I got my camera in January but they have always been to fast and the auto settings just couldn't catch them quick enough. It's still not perfect but I've put it in my blip folio as my best attempt so far.

I decided on this blip in the woods as Freya and I decided it looks like a place where faeries would live. I was playing around with macro shots and depth of field in the forest, and this sort of combines the too. You can see the glorious blue sky, it's such a lovely day, maybe now that the schools are going back the heatwave will return.

Enjoy the remains of the weekend, see you tomorrow after work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.