Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

On the street where I live...

I really wanted to say in yesterday's Blip that Dubai is often called a one street town* because in the last 15 years, all its major development has been along what locals now call SZR or Sheikh Zayed Road! (I have always known it as Abu Dhabi Road.) It is the road where they have all the tall sparkling skyscrapers, Burj Khalifa is built along it and heads South in the direction of Abu Dhabi (the Capital).

Having lived here all my life, I actually get quite annoyed when people call Dubai a one street town because I know for a fact that it has at least TWO streets! SZR and the street where I live (since 1978 I might add!) OK, there's a few other streets in between that connect SZR to mine... The beauty of Dubai is that it actually does have a bit of history - a few old buildings AND curvy, windy streets, unlike "The Capital" which is built on the American grid system and really has no character at all.

One street town - honestly!

A No. 44 bus happened to come along as I was taking my picture. I don't normally use public transport, but I do take this bus on occassion when I go to help my flatmate in the bookshop she runs.

*(mainly by ignorant yuppies who arrived in the last 5-10 years and think Dubai started after they came)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.