LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

The morning after...

This is the outside of The Heath House, I showed you the inside on Wednesday. It really is beautiful. I think it has a bit of a gothic feel to it. I guess it goes with my love of all things old. It's really special inside and the upstairs is gorgeous. Apparently it costs 500 quid a day to heat it. Ouch!

We made it up reasonably early to go down to the Stone Hotel for tea and cake, not quite on time but earlier than expected given Gem's history for being on time. It seems that yanking off the duvet to make her get out of bed actually works! The cake was delicious, made by a family friend I think but had a fruit section, an orange section and a lemon one. Happy days, I'm not a fan of fruit cake.

I volunteered us to go and help Nicki and Chris dismantle the stuff in the marquee much to the groans of all the tired bears but we're all glad we went as it would have taken them several trips and a good couple of hours longer had we not. Of course we squeezed in a roast dinner at the Hollybush first, if you're in the area and in search of a Sunday lunch, look no further, it was scrummy!

We got all the stuff back to their house where Sam managed to fall out of the back door and headbutt the trailer in the driveway. She gave us all a fright but she was okay and unsurprisingly she managed not to smash the case of wine she was carrying!

Chris showed me the gift that Nicki gave him for a wedding gift. It's a book that she's written in all her memories of their first meeting and what she thought, their first date and all the things she loves about him. Chris hadn't even read it, he started on Friday but had to write his speech so wisely he stopped reading. Probably just as well. I wept like a girl. It's so lovely and I'm so touched that they let me read it. Their relationship is just how it should be and I think they're incredibly lucky to have what they have together.

After we'd finished unloading they came back to the cottages with us, armed with all the leftover sparklers and we had a takeaway then went outside in the dark to write our names and a whole lot of rude words and generally behaved like children. We really do need adult supervision!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.