Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Poorly Boy

Backblipped on 18th April 2012

To say I was worried today would be an understatement. Charlie was rattly, really rattly. His chest sounded awful. I'd already had a phone conversation with the vet about him and had started him on baytril (antibiotic for rats), but he wasn't getting any better.

Furthermore, he's now about 28 months old, which is old for a rat. Respiratory disease is something to which rats are susceptible. I was worried.

I got the Wonderspouse to take a couple of pictures of me with Charlie, and spent a lot of time with him (Charlie, that is).

And kept up the baytril regime.

And worried what I was going to do about the fact that we were due to go away for a couple of days at the start of April for a much needed break. It's one thing asking a friend to "feed the cat", but quite another asking anyone to administer medication to a sick and elderly rat and possibly have to make a very difficult decision.

I worried a lot and cuddled Charlie a lot. The sound of his breathing rattling was not one I wished to hear with my newly cleaned out ear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.