Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Bed Tester!

Backblipped on 19th April 2012

The reason the alarm was set for 6 on an Easter Saturday morning was, as you've probably guessed, a rat show!

It was an early start because the Midlands Rat Club AGM was part of the show, so we needed to get our rats benched early! I set off with George, IV-XL, Victor, Norman and Stanley, substrate, cucumber, nail clippers, and so on!

I had to pause en route to get a coffee, since I was so tired. I saw a "normal" family at the service station - Dad, Mum, 2 kids, probably off for an Easter outing. It felt slightly bizarre, because that was how I figured my life would be by the time I was the age I am now. However, I'd been out late the night before, and was now on the way to a community centre in Birmingham with a car full of rats, where I would chop up cucumber, clip toenails, and bench my boys before discussing the finer points of hammock construction and so on, eating a toastie for lunch, and hoping that my lads didn't do anything unspeakable to the judges!!!

It was a lovely show, with lovely people. IV-XL got Best British Blue (his second rosette) and Stanley got Best Adult Owned Buck Kitten! I chatted to loads of friends, bought a couple of new beds for the boys and girls, including one that hangs from the side of the cage like these, and got some really cute rat earrings from a friend who makes them! :-)

The girl running the stall had set up her display with cuddly rodents to demonstrate the beds, but this beautiful rattie decided they needed a proper test - the owners bought the bed in the end, since the rat loved it so much!

Then it was back on the road again (the new car is certainly getting his wheels stretched), and home.

Finally, time to stop!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.