Aux urnes*

As all our friends went to vote in the first round of the French presidential election today I felt a bit left out. Not being a French citizen means that I can vote only in municipal and European elections. After a lifetime of interest in the political process, determination to use my right to vote but acknowledgement that it usually doesn't make much difference because the politicians always win, it seems strange to watch from the sidelines. And especially when it seems such a significant day for so many - I don't know if it's the same in other villages and towns in France, but I noticed five years ago and again today that everyone puts on their best clothes to go to vote. And different best clothes for the second round two weeks later.

Lo Jardinièr and I passed several voting stations (* where ballot boxes are called 'urnes') on a trip to Salasc, a lovely old village where I took a lot of photos of the houses, many sadly closed up for the winter. We saw wonderful wild flowers, especially asphodels growing up out of carpets of thyme, in the hills. Then home to make paella for a late lunch and drink a glass of Banyuls while it cooked. Time for a siesta now.

Thank you to all who congratulated me on my blipday yesterday. I'll try to drop in on you all over the next few days - your comments were all very much appreciated and made me realise all over again what a great place Blip is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.