atoll

By atoll

Mellow Yellow

I was always going to struggle to Blip today as I had a lot to do anyway before heading off to Isle of Man tomorrow for two days. Then yesterday, I also received a new architectural job enquiry meaning I had an extra meeting over in Cheadle Hulme to boot.

Because of this I was on the look out for a very quick and lazy-mans photo opportunity coming home. So on a back country lane detour, and care of a massive log jam on the M6 blocking Junctions 18-20 southbound that diverted all the traffic through Knutsford, I spotted this beautiful yellow field of Rape positively glowing in the gloom before yet another April shower.

The best place to photo it was from inside Tabley Road Cemetry (see earlier Blip) and so I parked up and wandered in. Ironically, so bright was the reflective light coming off the field and in so much contrast to the dark clouds and light from elsewhere that I struggled to get both the yellow rape and the foreground with any proper focus or exposure on my little iphone. I even tried to be clever with the independent focus and light meter of a downloaded Camera! App but it was one thing or the other. I settled for the yellow which was so warming and cheerful.

On coming home and uploading, the vibrant yellow rape and the deserted graveyard suddenly reminded me of one of the 4 music tracks we played at my dads funeral back in November - The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra's version of Fields of Gold (from the Album, Songs Without Words). A bit like supermarket musak, but my dad liked it, so I played it and it gave me a little moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.