sigaretta

"poffy" - my mnemonic device for remembering that nephrotic syndrome is proteinuria, frothy, puffy face, damage to podocytes allowing protein to filter through, hypoalbuminemia, etc.

"Oh, that poor child is poffy; must be nephrotic."

It works for me. It certainly did this morning. ACED my Immuno exam. Hundo. I don't usually brag, but I was really disappointed with my performance on the first exam even though I know Immunology backwards and forwards. (I was apparently using the backwards part of my knowledge skills on exam 1 and the forwards part for exam 2.)

And now we're on to pathology to finish out the year. 2 more courses until the end of my first year of medical school. If I had time to contemplate my surroundings and achievements thus far, I'd be pretty damn proud of myself and my friends. We've come so far, done so much, studied so many lectures, learned and forgotten more knowledge than some people would ever choose to study. And we're not done yet.

Found this sigaretta in the hallway outside my neighbor's door. Since I didn't want Lulu to pick it up on a trek outside, I picked it up to throw it away. But not before Matt modeled "how to hold an unlit sigaretta between your lips" for me.

The beginning of Hell Week is upon us. OMM clinical skills competency tomorrow morning. Studied all afternoon and will continue at 7am. Inevitable naptime following the competency.. and then! I get to go see the DuPrees in Dallas for Stacy's solo show (Sucré).

It's been far, far too long since I've been able to see their beautiful faces. Love that family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.