The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Ruffling A Few Feathers

I managed to get out into the garden hide (shed) this afternoon for the first time in about a month. No real reason why I haven't been out there other than the perishing cold!

I managed a couple of nice shots of one of the Reed Buntings which posed with a pleasing back drop. I got a Goldfinch on the new feeder just to prove to my brother that they actually use it. (It was a Christmas present). It has taken them a few weeks to start using it, but they are chomping through the food in it now. There are regular visits by Greenfinches and Goldfinches on it.

The Starlings are still the stars of the show out there at the moment. I have about half a dozen busily collecting food to take back to their partners back on the nest, and I now suspect have chicks. I had the few fledglings in my garden by late May last year.

I deliberately spot light metered this one to blow the background, and I hope you can see the oily iridescence of the birds plumage. I really do love Starlings, so much so, my RSPB Blog was about them last week.

I have put another blog up today all about last Saturdays RHS Show talk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.