Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Arrivals

Busy day again today - hence the backblipping! Oops!

Up medium early for a weekend, then I dropped the Wonderspouse off in town where he was on an "author table" at the local literary festival (the one celebrated by the knitted bookworm on my blip of a few days ago). I then did some shopping, came home, prepared cages, posted a sandwich down my neck, and set off to my friend Lyn's, near Northampton.

I was really only going over there to collect kits - both my girls, and some boys for my friend Beth, but Lyn had been poorly with flu so I cleaned a couple of cages for her while I was there - a pleasant afternoon in her rat shed, talking to the ratties and selecting hammocks!

I chose Beth's two little boys and put them into the cage I'd prepared for them (the blue cage with the narrower bars), then my girls, and put them into their cage (the white bar one in the centre), then Lyn asked me if I'd be prepared to foster a couple of rescue rats for a few weeks. They came to her from someone who was moving house and couldn't take them.

I said yes, of course, and asked what their names were - they didn't have any! Lyn said if I named them then I'd probably end up keeping them. They weren't used to being handled, and both squealed when picked up - I called them "the unhandled ladies" pro tem.

I loaded them (in one of Lyn's carry boxes), and their cage into the car, along with the kits, then set off for Coventry, where I collected the other blue cage (with the blue towel in it) from a girl I'd met on ebay. Then I came home, washed the new cage, and put the unhandled ladies in there, and took a photo!

Then it was time to collect the Wonderspouse - it was about 10 at night by this time - so I did, and we came home, had supper and he met the new arrivals.

I'd warned him that the unhandled ladies weren't like my other rats and might be feisty, but he couldn't resist, and the lighter of them bit his finger and he bled everywhere. He then declared that by biting him she'd "chosen him" and they'd have to stay. If they were put up for adoption, he'd have them.

I'd been calling them Tabea and Nobuko by now (after Tabea Zimmermann and Nobuko Imai), and the Wonderspouse decided to name them too - Meg and Alison (after Meg White and Alison Mosshart), so that was that - Tabea Meg and Nobuko Alison are here to stay - they went, in the space of an afternoon and evening from having no names at all to having two names each! Bless them!

Such is life in my world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.