Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Season!!!

Blipping early today, since it's pretty obvious what the significant thing that happens today will be (if aliens invade or something similarly spectacular happens this afternoon then I'll have to think again, but I haven't heard of any plans for alien invasion, and I certainly can't fit a tea party for little green men into my schedule for the day)!

THE NEW OUTDOOR SWIMMING SEASON HAS STARTED!!!!

*does somersaults, splashes around, remembers she's part-fish*

So, at 7 this morning I stepped into the great outdoors wearing nothing but my cozzie and goggles, and did 32 lengths / half a mile (just a short one to get started) of the outdoor pool!

One of the jobs I did yesterday was dropping off my season ticket application form - it hadn't yet been processed, but they know me there so weren't worried. The changing rooms have had a makeover during the winter - new lockers, nice new benches and so on - very smart!

Swimming outside was as lovely as ever - sun coming up behind the trees, fresh air, nice water (gently heated - not too hot, but warm enough to be pleasant), and this morning I had the place to myself too - it's the next best thing to having my own pool!

Then I came home and have been busy doing household and work stuff. Plans for the rest of the day include cage cleaning, maths, and remembering to eat. The Wonderspouse is out late at the launch of a poetry magazine - I'm still imagining someone breaking a bottle of champagne over the front of the magazine!

Oh, and I'm going to treat myself to a new pair of prescription goggles, because I notice that the elastic on mine is starting to perish and crack and doesn't have much longer to go!

Nice to be swimming again - it's good for me mentally - the pool's a great place to think, gets me exercise and daylight, and makes a nice start to the day!

:-)

Oh, and the picture is my "swimming roll", obviously!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.