The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Tea For 2?

I love blue hydrangeas, so when I walked by this garden on 9th Street in New York City today, I had to stop and take a photo.

They looked so beautiful poking out from their bed of greenery, and I was compelled to play around with the photo so it was not sharp and clear, but misty and a bit unreal. Rather like my day.

NYC is different when it rains. Dodging umbrellas, watching out for puddles, and avoiding errant taxis, replaces the brisk pace one normally finds in "The City That Never Sleeps."

After lunch, I found myself with enough spare time to visit with my daughter. I walked to her place, spent some time talking to her about her French class, then walked with her to NYU, where she was taking photos of a clothing swap that some of her friends were doing as a Senior Project.

We stopped at "Think", a coffee/tea shop, which is the quintessential NYU/Hipster hangout. After we had our mugs of fragrant, spicy Masala Truffle tea, we walked to her destination.

I gave her an awkward hug on the street and said, "I love you. Glad I got to see you today."

She replied, "I love you too, Mom. I like it when you come into the city and see me. Now I can say that I saw my mom and we went for tea."

I laughed and remarked, "Just like the Gilmore Girls." To which she quipped, "Only without their strange accents!"

I smiled, waved one last goodbye, and started my zig-zag trek thru the sea of umbrellas, happy that I'd have another 4 years of excuses to make an impromptu visit to NYU and have tea with daughter #2, as she enters NYU.

No matter what the season, there is always something special to photograph in New York.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.