SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

New D800 - First Shots

This is one of the first shots I have taken with the Nikon D800 that I collected somewhat unexpectedly this evening. The other day I called Best Buy on the off chance and they found some on the computer hiding in a store restocking warehouse so they dont show up to buy online... after a bit of wrangling and trying to order it a few different ways they succeeded... I took it as a "I'll believe it when I see it" kind of thing and much to my surprise I got an email this afternoon to say it was in stock and I could go and get it...

I bought a lens with it that I am very probably going to return, but I had to get a lens because being a Canon guy I didnt have any Nikon ones... and I didnt want to wait until sunday until I get into NYC to buy a decent lens before I could see if the camera even works.

So this was taken on the deck on the tripod with the new 36mp D800 and a new not so great 70-300mm lens. The lens has no tripod collar so at 300mm I think it was getting a little wobbly on shutter. I have no Nikon cable release so I couldnt do mirror lockup... well plus the fact as I have never used any kind of Nikon camera before and was keen to get a few shots I also dont know how to even use the camera properly yet!

Immediate thoughts... I doesnt fell anywhere near as good in the hand as the Canon 5d Mark III, the menus are confusing and having press down the mode button and turn a dial to change from Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority to Manual is rather annoying... but I didnt buy this camera to feel nice in my hand or to play with menus or have the buttons in a preferred spot... I bought it to get the best quality images I can, especially my landscape stuff at ISO 100 on a tripod...

I have high hopes for this camera :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.