Life In Wales

By KarenC

Jesus!

Where do I start? Well, we've been here, there and everywhere today - including a town which is half in Belgium and half in Holland, so we were literally to and fro between the two countries.

We started our day at 'Paul' in Waterloo for breakfast, and then went to Turnhout in the north of Belgium - camera shopping!

I decided after my day at 'Floralia Brussels' that it's time to move onto a bridge camera.

Fortunately, my husband is into photography too and has a Canon SLR - I mentioned that I'd like a new camera and he started researching them for me. He called me yesterday while he was at work to say that he'd found this shop in Turnhout that's cheaper than the internet shops and also UK prices, so off we went with our visitors in tow!

What a fantastic place - I've never seen so much choice under one roof - and I'm now the proud owner of a Canon SX40 HS, and can't wait to start playing with it.

Anyway, after we'd been shopping we went to a little town called Baarle-Hertog/Baarle-Nassau. Baarle-Hertog is in Belgium and Baarle-Nassau is in Holland. The border winds in and out of the town so you literally are in Belgium one minute, and Holland the next!

One of the first sights we saw was this one of Jesus with knitted gloves on! At first I thought someone had put gloves on him, but as we walked around the town, in and out of Belgium/Holland, it appears that the 'knitted character' had been casting his yarn! There were knitted hats on the top of fountains, scarves around street posts, benches etc. It was very amusing and I took lots of photos (for a change!).

It was a lovely warm day, even though it was cloudy and we sat outside for lunch in 'Holland'. Then on the way home we went via Leopoldsburg War Cemetery where my Uncle is buried.

He was killed in the second World War in the Battle of Hasselt and we go to see his grave every now and then when we're in the area. Of course, I took lots of photos of the cemetery and his grave. To make it more special, when I got home I telephoned my Aunt who is 90 years old, to tell her that we'd been to see his grave, and she said that she'd been thinking about him as it would have been is 91st birthday on Monday...

So it was a difficult choice - too many different shots to choose from, but the one with Jesus is just so funny!

Hope you like it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.