Rodents rule

By squirk

One of 10,000!

We showed 'em! Today, London cyclists took to the streets in the dreich weather to campaign for safer streets, not just for cyclists but for pedestrians, too. The campaign is backed by The Time, London Cyclist Campaign and Londoners on Bikes and it happened this weekend because we vote for the new London mayor on 3 May. All four mayoral candidates have pledged their support for the Love London Go Dutch principles, but signing up doesn't mean doing. I know who I'm voting for.

Here's a video of the ride taken by theBBC. Look out for the guy on the tall bicycle - he was in front of me for a while and I'm in awe with his balance, especially since I managed to fall off my bicycle sideways when standing still - doh! Luckily, that wasn't captured on camera. I can feel a couple of bruises coming on.

Other riders of note included quite a few with dogs in baskets. I spotted one guy with two spaniels in the front and one in the back. Fantastic! There were loads of kids, too, and some in Dutch-style bicycle carriages.

It was a good day for a good cause and I'm glad to be a part of it. Let's hope the cyclists are heard. As one cycling vest declared: "Watch out! The cyclists are coming."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.