Journey Through Time

By Sue

Hulda Klager Lilac Farm

Boy, had a tough time trying to decide what to put up. If I showed the house, no lilacs, if I show the lilacs, no house. Oh well. This shows you a bit of the back acreage. The lilacs are just gorgeous and in many colors. There were quite a few people wandering about and it was hard to get a shot without somebody in it.

Here's what you do if you want. Go to their website and take a look around if you are interested. in seeing what this place really looks like. I really can't do it justice in my photos. Hulda Klager came from Germany and she eventually became interested in hybridizing lilacs. She has quite a story and the history of this property is interesting. It is now on the National Historic register and it is lovingly taken care of by many volunteers.

Lilac Farm

I took my aunt there today as Bill had stuff to do in our garden. Then I took her to the Cedar Creek Grist Mill since it's not far from Woodland, WA. You can see it here. Green and lovely in spring and the creek was roaring with spring run-off. Since it was the weekend, the mill was open and we went inside. They grind up corn and wheat and we took home some samples. Yay.

Dinner out with Bill and Joan at a Mexican restaurant and now..it's getting late and I just don't know where that day went. Whew.

Hope all is well with you and yours, Blippers. See ya later.

PS Thank you so much for liking our Rufous hummer! Handsome lad, isn't he?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.