atoll

By atoll

Manchester Derby Day

Well today is Judgement Day for those with even the smallest degree of football interest, but in particular for those that are Mancunian in origin and loyalty. My Blip of the other day alluded to the imensity of this, and such is the prospect that I even have butterflies writing this.

And so I should be, say the half of Manchester with the sky blue hue no doubt!

So what on earth am I rambling on about? Well today of course is crucial Manchester Derby day in the final run-in to deciding who of the city's two teams wins the 2012 Barclays Premier League. The league is by a country mile, the hardest to win and best in the world, and up until recently Manchester United have had it more their way than not. City have not won the premier league / first division since 1968, but they aim to change that sooner or later.

So are Fergussons so-called noisy neighbours City on the ascendency with its impressive squad, finance structure and ambition? The Reds with an aging core of classy old players like Scholes and Giggs certainly have their work cut out, but don't write us off just yet! Remember we are still 3 points clear and have the wound of a 1:6 drubbing by City at Old Trafford to put right (I was there and it still hurts). Plus there is the small matter of two other games remaining.

So to sum this all up, my Blip today is taken from our rather wild and unkempt back garden as I went to put out the rubbish. The bright red and slightly faded flowers of a thorny old Quince sit side by side with some freshly emerging shoots of some Blue Bells. Ha, sorry for the dreadful pun and metaphor - and yes I admit it is an Emergency Blip really!

Anyway, kick off tonight at the Etihad Stadium at 20:00.

Will my heart last out to watch it live?

Will tell you tomorrow, when it will be all over bar the shouting (unless the pressure finally gets the better of me....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.