A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Post Office

This is the old Post Office in the city centre. For years it sat empty, chucking out light pollution every night since it was all lit up inside. Nowadays it has some Amazon Offices and other stuff so isn't a complete waste of space (depending on your point of view).

Some exciting things -

Last night when I was plodding through Holyrood Park doing some training, I saw a beautiful owl floating about. I am 99% sure it was a Short Eared Owl which I have not seen before so I plan to go back sometime soon to see if I can see it again and perhaps photograph it.

I have ordered an automatic 300mm lens to hire from Jacobs for a bit to see if I like it. I really love my current manual 300mm lens but it is a wee bit of a challenge to use since I have to set everything depending on the ever-changing light situations (there is no metering-nothing) and also manually focus making it very hard to try and catch birds in flight. The forums are full of people denouncing the very idea of ever buying any equipment because it "doesn't make you a better photographer". Well no it won't but it will (hopefully) mean I can catch birds in flight which will make me very happy. And when they move from sunlight into shade I won't have to stand fiddling with buttons while it meanwhile flies off into the distance. And because I have had so much practise with the manual it will be easy for me to switch to manual focus when the birds are hiding in the trees like they usually do. Plus I sort of promised Witchcreations I'd get it. It is going to be great! :-)

I'm sure there was something else but I have forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.