Journey Through Time

By Sue

May Day

Some of you may remember when May Day was a day of celebrating Spring with flower "May" baskets. I even think sometime or another in my childhood there was a traditional May pole where we wove ribbons onto a pole. Or else I've seen too many pictures of them, and I just think I've done that. That is entirely possible. Anyway, May Day...I do remember picking flowers and leaving them on door steps or something along those lines. It wasn't about military might, rioting in the streets, parades of armaments or anything like that. It was peace and love, dude.

So...Bill wanted me to blip the Bow Bells rhododendron. It's a favorite with us. This huge bumblebee showed up and I got this before he flew off. I normally think bumblebees are rather attractive, but this one...wow...he was a bit on the ugly side I thought. So...May Day...a beautiful plant...and the ugly insect.

Hope your May Day is nothing but beautiful....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.