Off Centre

By RachelCarter

23

- or "The Dice Go to the Seaside"

So much for being determined to stay home and study for 3 weeks. I must make sure I'm determined to do something that I actually don't need to do in future. So. This one's for Murphy, Fate and Sod:
Clears throat and reads from script, "I have decided that tomorrow, I will definitely NOT be fitting in lots of study. So there. I have decided to waste the whole day watching the rain fall." (Let's bluff the weather too while we're at it)

Best laid plans, famous last words, and all that malarky...

If I'd have known that having cavity wall insulation would be this awful, noisy, messy, invasive (oh, yeah, I knew it would be invasive....), I think I would have said, 'Not today, thank you.'
The shaking walls, the trembling desk, the noisy noise, the grey coating on the windows, the bits of unidentified "stuff" all over the place outside that the dog keeps trying to eat, the unexpected coming into the house to drill from inside the boiler room and the conservatory, the tens of ugly holes all over the house; right down to the enormous red truck parked in front of our house making everything glow dark red - and parked so that when the men go for a break in their cab they're looking in through the kitchen window...

...It's all made studying difficult, nay, pretty-much impossible.

So, despite my best intentions to knuckle down, I got out of the house for an hour or so and took the dice to the beach for some fresh air.

I'm now sitting here wondering if I'll ever get past page 138.

(and I expect the dice will be complaining about sand in their dots later!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.