Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Windows at its best - Not

Another emergency blip. Been parked up for 36 hours with the flu virus that's been round the office. Thankfully I've not been quite as bad a some, but still bad enough.

Thought I'd use the time and my limited powers of concentration to set up my new 4TByte Dual drive NAS with RAID1. Maybe a bit overkill but I shouldn't have to worry about losing my main drive that everything gets put on from all PCs and laptops as well as hundreds of albums of music for iPods etc. A few hours getting it up and running, shares and users set up etc. Hopefully have got a while before I fill it up too.

Am sure it would have taken much less time under normal circumstances.

Next step to transfer data from the old to the new. Just got to be a quicker way!!! Got 450Gbyte to transfer in total and its taking ages. This is over a 1000BaseT network and NIC on the new drive. It's this pc that's the bottleneck and am sure its Windows at the centre. Next lot will be done on a Linux machine I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.