Skip's Blips

By Skip

Wood duck

Last Saturday I blipped a wood duck at North Chagrin Reservation, and today I blipped another. This park is about five minutes from the grocery store where I was headed to do some shopping, so I couldn't resist checking on the status of the wood duck migration. Two weeks from today, there will be a wood duck festival in this park because it has become such a popular stopping off spot for the migrating ducks. I was amazed to see that the powers-that-be at the park feel it is necessary to post a set of "Rules for Photographers," which included strictures such as Don't offer food to attract the ducks; Don't disturb other people who are enjoying the park; and Don't wade in the water. I wonder if wood duck photographers are such a rude bunch of people that these common sense "rules" are necessary? I can't wait until the festival, when the park is overflowing with photographers, to see if everyone is following the rules. Today everyone was on their best behavior, and I had some good conversations with other photo enthusiasts. One photographer even showed me the duck photo he had blipped with his 500 mm lens.

I almost posted this picture today instead of the wood duck. Do you think I made the better choice?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.