Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Gila Woodpecker

I finally got to use the Birds of Arizona Field Guide that Alma gave me as a gift. She wants to encourage me to become a nature photographer like her. I could never be as good as Alma!

This is a "he" Gila. I didn't notice the red on the cap at first. It's reminiscent of a Jewish kippah.

They excavate cavaties in Saguaro cactus, but due to sap oozing usually don't nest in it until the following year.

I saw several of them, he's and she's, flying from trees to rooftop, to cactus when I stopped to pick up my mail. They were flying high but I had plenty of time to switch lenses and just wait outside the car for them to call each other with a harsh "quirrrrrr" and return to the cactus. I also noted a kind of "gee-gee-gee" that sounded like a laugh.

They were fun to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.