an image of teamdel

By teamdel

The one she likes

Boy groaned on through his penultimate swimming lesson this morning which was nice, but at least we only have the one more to go before giving it up. On the way back we popped in the Post Office to collect some parcels that had not been delivered due to our normal postie not being about this week and the replacement one not leaving anything with neighbours. It always annoying having to collect parcels as you have to pay for parking and you have to queue for ages.

Today was even worse as due to a technical difficulty (which after enquiring actually means a crap member of staff) none of yesterdays parcels could be picked up today. Still as Boys birthday is on the way we had some others to collect. I handed the cards over the counter and then was asked for ID. I was then asked for ID for Boy as some of them were addressed to him. I told them he is only one but this did not wash as apparently I needed his birth certificate.

Now I was under the impression that a birth certificate is an important document that should not just be used at any available opportunity such as receiving some post. Added to this when post is delivered to your house you do not need ID to get it. So I informed the counter man that I was Boy's Dad, and that the address was as on my ID and that we all share the same name in our family. Added to this I told counter man that by demanding a one year olds ID he was stopping Boy receiving his second birthday presents. I was given what was described as a special allowance and then given our post, but told that when I came back to get the parcel that they had not bothered to sort out when they were supposed to I would have to bring the birth certificate as the next counter person may not be so nice. So I will look forward to that trip then.

This afternoon we went back to the "It's Just A Matter Of Time" exhibition by Andrew Whyte to see how it was shaping up since our Wednesday visit. It was looking good and Girl even got to do some light painting of her own in a mini workshop which was exciting.

Boy who had only managed a ten minute nap started to get wild so we took him downstairs where he set about removing all the books from the childrens book stores before we headed for home and a visits to a friends where ping pong was the game of the day, that was until the little man of the house took his first giant leaps for mankind (which I missed as had to leave early to cook). It doesn't seem that long ago he had to be carried about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.