Friday Foto

By drmackem

White Wells

Went down to watch the Jack Bloor Fell race this evening and meet up with some friends from over the hill for a drink and catch up. After 18months of struggling to run with injury, I've had a steady injury free period since November and knew tonight, though not back to my old fitness that I should stop watching and get out and join in the fun of it all. So the next race blip will be one I turn out a get muddy in.

I wandered up on to the moor after seeing them set off to watch the leading crowd make their descent, Tom won by a mile (actually not far off a mile), he's such a nice lad too, your just pleased for him, he looks like he's not trying, his balance is balletic - I should blip him descending one day, I wonder if you can capture that poise and control of the best fell runners?

Any way blip today is White Wells where the Victorians and a few mad people nowadays take the waters, by dipping themselves in the well with the invigorating and health giving water in the well in this house. Looks just like a lot of very cold water to me, but then what do I know. Ilkley went in Victorian times from being a one horse (and a thousand sheep) town to a thriving gentrified spa town in a matter of years, with one hotel - The Hydro having more paying guests than the population of the town only 10 years previously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.