Full moon and fontana magica

This was NOT a good day.
1 - My booked train from Oxford to Reading was straight through to Paddington. Luckily I was at the station early enough to get the one 7 minutes earlier which was going to Reading. This I thought was an auspicious start to the day. How wrong could I be.

2 - Reading to Gatwick. I'd completely forgotten that I'd made that trip a few times in different circumstances in 2008. And that Dave made it many times more. Not great memories.

3 - Points failure, Redhill. We sat in the middle of the English countryside for about 10 minutes and then reversed back to Reigate. Some indecision and bad advice followed and then after 45 minutes it was off the train and down to get a taxi. Luckily I only had to wait 15 minutes and got to Gatwick and midday, rushing up the escalator to check in before hiking across the bridge to Gate 104 arriving just before they started boarding. North Terminal - my regular haunt from my French days. No time to buy anything though.

4 - easyjet to Barcelona. I'd wanted to look down on SW France but it was cloudy all the way. Coffee and a sandwich and then horror of horrors, no travel wallet in which are my travel credit cards and my left over euros. That sensation of panic followed by, well at least I have my passport and my UK cards on me. Phew!
I still have no idea where it went missing. It's not that small. I phoned the B&B and the taxi company, but no sign of it. The train? Who knows. I blame my exhaustion and my stress. I just wasn't well prepared for this trip. The hotel had free internet so that was one good thing.

5 - wrong way go back - I love these street signs but there wasn't one when I came out of the Diagonal metro station and proceeded to head in a northerly direction past two more stations before it dawned on me that I should been heading downhill towards the sea, not uphill. Then of course I had no change for the metro (my small change being in my travel wallet!).

There were a couple of good things -

the hotel room is huge and the full moon was stunning. The Magic Fountain is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Music, lights, water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.