Gaudi

Ah yes, a Gaudi fest in Barcelona. Unlike me I had done no research at all before this visit. Again symptomatic of a lot of things. I didn't even have a guide book till I bought one once I got to the city but I knew I had to see a bit of Gaudi.

It was a beautiful morning, but my necked ached all day, swifthy followed by my right thigh freezing. This was the fault of the bed and the soft, unsupported pillows but I set off, in the sunshine to explore the city.

First stop Casa Batllo which is very beautiful. But a queue so onward to La Pedrera where there was another queue so I headed off to Sagrada Familia, on foot. It was a long walk and I rewarded myself with a beer (or two) and a sandwich overlooking the Basilica. There was a queue here too but I did pay my money and join the tourist throng. It is an amazing building, but when will it be finished?

Then of to Parc Guell. It was much further and a much steeper climb up the hill than I'd expected and being me I went in from the car park and out the main entrance. Great views of the city and the guard houses look like gingerbread houses.

Back to the hotel for the second swim of the day and I didn't go far this evening. Round to Les Arenas, the former bullring now a shopping centre with rooftop restaurants. I sat alone and watched the sun go behind Tibidabo and cried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.