I'm forever blowing bubbles

Sunday, another morning swim and more sunshine. Barcelona is very like Toulouse, although Toulouse is much smaller. It also feels quite SW French, not surprising as Catalonia used to be linked to SW France, although the predominant foreign language seems to be Russian. French elections today. It's odd I have no idea whether people are speaking Castilian or Catalonian but I can read Catalonian - it's similarity to Occitan and French.

Today's jaunt was to Montjuic via the cable car across the harbour. This involved over an hour of queuing unable to listen to 'The Elegance of the Hedgehog', my current MP3 book. (Caused by my inability to realise it was charged and on, the sun you know). Once on Montjuic it was a walk uphill to the telepherique. My neck is a lot better today but my back and thigh are not. there is also much more of me than there was this time last year and that is NOT good news.

I had a wander round the castle and then sat in the sun with a couple of beers and a sandwich and watched the world go by. I was beginning to feel relaxed. I still kept thinking how much Dave would have enjoyed this but he's not here.

The views back across the city were stunning and after a read of the guidebook I set off for the old city. A stroll round the narrow streets and another queue in the sun for the Cathedral. The geese were fun. There is a flock of geese in the cloister in Barcelona.

The attraction on the way back was the couple who'd appeared and were
creating huge bubbles to the delight of the children in the crowd. there are some things that always bring out the inner child.

Back to the hotel to change and then straight back to the Placa Reial for a carb laden tapas meal. This carb addiction must stop.

And after that? Well when you're a lone traveller the night life options are limited so it was back to the hotel. No CNN or BBC World and my internet radio doesn't recognise the wi-fi so q very quiet night in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.