Fishy

France went left yesterday and Sarko is no more. My French years are the Sarko years.

I have not slept well on this trip - the hard bed, the soft pillows (although I did find a slightly better one in the wardrobe) and the thoughts that keep me awake from 4. And there is no World Service, Radio 4 or tea making facilities to distract my over-emotional mind away from where it wants to go.,

My leg was quite sore yesterday so this was to be a restful day before I leave this evening. Off on the Bus Turistica (blue and red routes) but such is there popularity that rather than wait at the Placa d'Espanya I set off along the Gran Via (30 minute walk) to a less busy stop.

It was hot and sunny today and my right forearm is definitely more than pink as are the other exposed bits of me. So off to see the sights and sites of Barcelona. Soem liek the Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell and Montjuic I'd already done but others like Camp Nou were new.

I alighted at the Olympic marina and walked back along the shore to the beaches beside the harbour. they were busy. People sunbathing, swimming, playing beach volley ball. My plan had always been to live in a hot sunny country. Somehow it just hasn't worked out, but I do love the sun.

A long, late leisurely final lunch, cava and beer and then I walked back all the way to the hotel, with a last beer on Paral lel. It was still hot and sunny at 6.30.

Then off to the airport and the usual Ryanair scrum. What is it about Ryanair that changes people's behaviour so completely? There were seats for us all, even if they are so uncomfortable. So straight back to Edinburgh and 6 deg and rain. Welcome home!

Did I enjoy Barcelona? I liked the place, I liked the sun, I liked being able to stroll around and people watch. There's been a lot of emotion flying around the last couple of weeks and I didn't realise that so much would come back up and the proximity to France just did not help. Maybe Rome would have been better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.