What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Splat!

Or back-Blip #5

Nothing like realising you've not done a Blip at 22:00, then 22:45, then 23:20 and finally 23:45 before finally escaping the lure of Lego (dammit 4th May and the Avengers!) to go and do an emergency Blip of everything non-moving in the house! This is one of several drinks mats that adorns our coffee table, all are quite as silly as this and look suitably dismayed - they're ace!

The rest of today was taken up with a 'Game of Thrones' catch-up (just to reassure everyone, it's still awesome) and watching 'Silent House' at the cinema. The American adaptation of Uruguayan chiller 'La Casa Muda' ('The Silent House') it's a horror movie with a claim that you will experience the real fear with the characters as it's all done in one 86 minute-or-so take. I was left in a 50/50 kind of mood over the film; I had no real desire to go and see it but we're reviewing it on Saturday (yep, they're letting me back on the radio again!) and I had some time to spare.

The most impressive part of the film for me was Elizabeth Olsen; the lead character she is on screen for most of the film (there's a few scenes where she's in the same room but off-camera) and it's a very good, continuous performance from her. The trouble was the gimmicking of the film ("one take, wow!") started distracting me - I was watching out for sneaky editing cuts that would let them stop filming, opportunities where no one is on screen and so the camera could have been paused.

At the end (and this is a little spoilery!) there was one fairly annoying slip-up as well, which I shall refer to as the "Frodo Shuffle"*, wherein the actor on screen seemed to have to move around the camera's presence - before then they'd been very good at keeping the two apart. Also CineWorld brought up the lights early, that's never helpful in a film set mostly at night. So overall I would say check it out if you want to see some good performances, but it's not exactly a mind-blowing event of a film (like that one I keep mentioning...)



*Something I never noticed in 'Lord of the Rings' that was pointed out in a commentary and now I can't never not notice - dammit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.